AGM: The All-Party Parliamentary Group for District Councils 12 March 2024, 9.30am-10am, Room P, Portcullis House

Title of meeting	AGM: The All-Party Parliamentary Group for District Councils
Date and time	9.30am, 12 March 2024
Location	Room P, Portcullis House

Attendees

Parliamentarians: Sir Brandon Lewis CBE MP; Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb; Lord Porter of Spalding; Baroness Pinnock of Cleckheaton; Luke Hall MP; Mark Pawsey MP; Sir Peter Bottomley MP

Other: James Hood, DCN Director; Alison Potter, DCN Senior Policy & Partnerships Officer and Helen Hill, Chief of Staff to Sir Brandon Lewis CBE MP

Minutes

Quorum: Sir Brandon Lewis CBE MP confirmed that 7 parliamentarians were present and that the AGM was quorate.

Election of Group Officers: Sir Brandon Lewis CBE MP advised the parliamentarians present that four parliamentarians had indicated that they wished to put themselves forward as one of the four required officers for the APPG. These parliamentarians are:

- Sir Brandon Lewis CBE MP (Chair and Registered Contact)
- Baroness Taylor of Stevenage (Group Officer)
- Luke Hall MP (Group Officer)
- Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville (Group Officer)

All parliamentarians present voted to elect Sir Brandon Lewis CBE MP as the Chair and Registered Contact.

All parliamentarians present voted to elect Baroness Sharon Taylor, Luke Hall MP and Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville as the other group officers.

Membership: All parliamentarians present noted the new APPG requirements for 20 members. It was noted that 22 parliamentarians had requested to become members of the APPG.

These parliamentarians are:

- Sir Brandon Lewis CBE MP
- Baroness Taylor of Stevenage
- Lord Porter of Spalding
- Lord Fuller of Gorleston-on-sea (introduced on 12th March)
- Henry Smith MP
- Harriett Baldwin MP

- Baroness Thornhill of Watford
- Caroline Nokes MP
- Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer
- Sarah Dines MP
- Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville
- Mark Pawsey MP
- Sir Peter Bottomley MP
- Luke Hall MP
- Baroness Pinnock of Cleckheaton
- Paul Holmes MP
- Lord Lucas and Dingwall
- Baroness Grey-Thompson of Eaglescliffe
- Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb
- Helen Morgan MP
- Lord Harrington of Watford
- Sir Bernard Jenkin MP

All parliamentarians present agreed to the membership.

Appointment of APPG Secretariat: All parliamentarians present agreed to the appointment of the District Councils' Network (DCN) as the secretariat.

Income and expenditure statement: All parliamentarians present approved the income and expenditure statement.

Role and purpose of the APPG: All parliamentarians present reaffirmed the role and purpose of the APPG as:

• To work to promote the interests of district councils, support closer working with parliamentarians and to raise awareness of the opportunities for districts in shaping the evolving local government agenda.

APPG logo: Parliamentarians noted that the APPG does not currently have a logo. Officers and members of the APPG instructed the secretariat to commission one.

Forward plan: Officers and members of the APPG discussed potential themes for future meetings and possible report topics. These included:

- Water management issues including flooding, internal drainage boards and nutrient neutrality.
- The importance of districts in devolution
- The Government's waste reforms
- Local government finance

It was agreed that the secretariat would prepare more detailed proposals and a forward plan, for the APPG's consideration.

Registration: It was agreed that the secretariat would prepare the necessary registration forms and submit them to the APPG Registrar.